English Muffins for Easter

April 16, 2012

Our Easter celebration last weekend consisted of brunch at M’s grandmother’s with his family. The spread included delicious asparagus, bagels with cream cheese (even a vegan cream cheese!), a fresh salad and lots of fruit options. We opted to bring some homemade english muffins, a baking adventure which I had never embarked on. Obsessed with my new sourdough starter I was determined to find a recipe that would only rely on sourdough to get the muffins rising, and I found rave reviews about the recipe over on The Fresh Loaf. And let me tell you- this recipe was per-fect. Don’t make them alone, you won’t be able to resist feeding someone cute a warm, crisp english muffin right off the pan!

I made a batch and a half and cut out the muffins using the screw lid of a mason jar. We made our muffins purposefully small, knowing we’d be adding them to a buffet of goodies, and we ended up with about 2 dozen 2″-diameter beauties. You can see them rising in the picture above. It was a pretty quick recipe to whip up, really only relying on the starter to give them a boost. They didn’t rise all that much during their time on the table, but once they were in the pan they popped right up with a delightful springy-ness.

The english muffins in the hot skillet, fresh from their rising

3-4 minutes later they have popped right up, and are flipped to brown on the other side.

I followed the recipe exactly, substituting almond milk for the dairy and setting the disks to rise on semolina flour. I also used about 3/4 whole wheat flour and 1/4 white flour which made them very hearty but, fortunately, didn’t impact their ability to rise at all. We found them to have perfect nooks and crannies excellent for holding jam or other toppings.

I whipped up a quick jam using local peaches canned last summer, some frozen strawberries picked last summer, orange zest and about a tablespoon of honey. They went over well with friends and family alike, and also helped to slow my ever-growing starter. Now I’m convinced we can use sourdough to make any yeasted recipe! Ours imparts a very, very slight tang, which makes it wonderfully versatile. I’m looking forward to sourdough pizza crust, bagels and cinnamon rolls, once this semester finally ends!

Happy rising!

4 Responses to “English Muffins for Easter”

  1. hopesanderson Says:

    Those look great! I eat English muffins every day for breakfast. This makes me want to try making my own. 🙂

    • walkerjdunn Says:

      You should! And let me know how they turn out- if you don’t have a sourdough starter there are many recipes on the web that call for store bought yeast. Although I suggest the sourdough 🙂


  2. Oh, I love homemade English muffins!


Leave a Reply

